State Assessments for English Learners

  • What is TELPAS?

    TEA designed the Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) and TELPAS Alternate to assess the progress that limited English proficient (LEP) students, also referred to as English learners (ELs), make in learning the English language.

    TEA TELPAS Parent Resources

  • What is STAAR?

    The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) program, which was implemented in spring 2012, includes annual assessments for

    • reading and mathematics, grades 3–8
    • writing at grades 4 and 7
    • science at grades 5 and 8
    • social studies at grade 8
    • end-of-course (EOC) assessments for English I, English II, Algebra I, biology and U.S history.

    STAAR Resources Included:

    • Understanding your student's test score
    • STAAR/EOC Blueprints
    • Released test questions

    STAAR Resources